Streaming ZED X in real time?

Hello,

My project is to shoot a SBS video using the ZED X camera, stream it in real-time(as fast as possible) and watch it through the Oculus Quest 3 for a 3D effect.

I have a few questions:

1. which plugins are the fastest for streaming ZED X videos? I’m considering Gstreamer, OpenCV, RTSP, etc.
  2. Has anyone had experienced watching ZED X SBS videos on a HMD? HMD Video players like DeoVR and HereSphere are some examples, but I’m unsure if they are compatible with ZED X videos.

I’m also facing difficulties using the ZED Box Orin NX since I’m new to Linux,
Any advice from someone who has experienced streaming with the ZED camera would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance!

Hi @Ethan,

1. which plugins are the fastest for streaming ZED X videos? I’m considering Gstreamer, OpenCV, RTSP, etc.

I think we don’t have tests on this use case in-house, but we do have GStreamer and OpenCV integrations to get you started.

I’m also facing difficulties using the ZED Box Orin NX since I’m new to Linux,

Don’t hesitate if you have questions! The documentation and samples may also prove helpful to understand all the concepts around the ZED SDK.

That’s an interesting project, I’m very curious of the output, please don’t hesitate to post a show-off topic once you get some results! :wink:

Also, this topic mentions streaming to an HMD, you might want to take a look: Stream Video to non-CUDA device - #8 by keli95566

Thank you @JPlou ,

I am currently working with GStreamer, and have come across some examples that use RTSP.
However, in [GStreamer - ZED Camera Source - Stereolabs], (GStreamer - ZED Camera Source - Stereolabs)
it mentions using H264 streaming over UDP on a local network,
while the https://www.stereolabs.com/docs/gstreamer/rtsp-server
it uses a ZED RTSP server.