How to get zed2i topics to remap to work with stereo_image_proc

Apologies, I am somewhat new to ros. I’m having issues trying to pass the zed2i topics to work with stereo_image_proc (http://wiki.ros.org/stereo_image_proc)

The latter subscribes to 4 topics:

• stereo/left/image_raw
  • stereo/left/camera_info
  • stereo/right/image_raw
  • stereo/right/camera_info

I am unsure how to remap the zed published topics to the desired topics.

I attempted to edit the zed_camera.launch.xml file to include:

<remap from="zed2i/zed_node/left_raw/image_raw" to="stereo/left/image_raw"  />
<remap from="zed2i/zed_node/left_raw/camera_info" to="stereo/left/camera_info"  />   
<remap from="zed2i/zed_node/right_raw/image_raw" to="stereo/right/image_raw"  />   
<remap from="zed2i/zed_node/right_raw/camera_info" to="stereo/right/camera_info"  />

above the zed_node entry, however, running the zed2i wrapper still didn’t map the topics.

What am i doing wrong?

Hi @bc524
probably you are only missing the / at the very beginning of all the topic names.

Can I ask you why you are trying to get the depth map by using stereo_image_proc?
The depth map and the point cloud provided by the ZED SDK are better than the best result that you can obtain by using stereo_image_proc.
Furthermore, they are generated at high frequency by using the GPU and CUDA, thing that is not possible (as far as I know) with stereo_image_proc.

Thank you for replying. I will try adding the / when i get access to the device again.

I’m trying to use it with a velo2cam calibration (GitHub - beltransen/velo2cam_calibration: Automatic Extrinsic Calibration Method for LiDAR and Camera Sensor Setups. ROS Package.). One step of the calibration requires a filtered_cloud that is generated from the disparity map of the stereo camera.

I tried to do the calibration in gazebo and used the stereo_image_proc to generate the disparity map. So, going with what I knew, I attempted the same with the Zed2i camera.